Doing All Things English

Standard

Hey Everyone!

I’ve been so busy these past two weeks, and I haven’t even been traveling, that it’s been hard to get a post in to update you guys on what has been going on!

Last week was pretty eventful and filled with traditional British activities. I went to go watch a true, live, English Premier League football match! Julissa, Kelly, and I went to see the Arsenal Gunners play against the Bolton Wanderers at Emirates Stadium! We got tickets for only ten pounds and were in the seventh row! They were amazing seats, and we were able to see everything little bit of action, and every move that they players made. It was unreal, and I’ve come to the conclusion that soccer (football) is definitely much better to watch live than on TV. I had gone to a Fulham match at Craven Cottage with my family earlier this summer, but seeing a big time match at Emirates Stadium was in a whole other league, the atmosphere was crazy! The fans were on their feet and chanting the traditional Arsenal cheers the entire time. Arsenal ended up winning 3-1.

  
The girls and I at Emirates Stadium

Kelly and I went to a free lecture that was being held at Queen Mary by Lord Sebastian Coe, better known as Seb Coe. It said in the online description of the talk that he was the head of the 2012 Olympic committee who was responsible for bringing the 2012 Olympics to London, and that he was going to be giving a motivational talk on how to maintain a winning mind. I looked him up on Google before I went to hear him speak and found out that he was an AMAZING track and field athlete! He was an Olympian in the 1500m, and broke and held records in everything from the 800m to the 5k. As a fellow mid-distance runner I was more than impressed and it made hearing him speak that much more meaningful. After the lecture, Kelly and I went up and had a chance to talk with the man himself for a brief 5 minutes, where we talked about track and field in the states, having your dad as a coach, and training. I was really happy that I got the opportunity to hear him speak about his life, and what kind of attitude it is necessary to maintain. My dad (and coach) and brother were pretty jealous  🙂

On Friday night, the girls and I got a chance to enjoy another British past time – going to the theater on a Friday night! Julissa found cheap tickets online (12 pounds!) to go see Priscilla Queen of the Desert! I had seen the show when I was here earlier this summer with my family, and I knew that my friends would have a good time. I guess you get what you pay for, because our seats were wayyyy up high in the nosebleeds, but it didn’t take away too much from the show. Priscilla is such an flambouyant, over-the-top musical that it would be hard to not have a good time!  Especially on Halloween weekend it was pretty entertaining to see men dressing up as women and lip-syncing to songs like “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!”

On Saturday, IFSA-Butler organized another day trip for it’s study abroad students. They took us into Bath, which is about a 2.5 hour bus ride southwest from London. Bath is one of the oldest cities in England, and was founded by the Romans when they took over England. We got to take a free tour of the famous Roman Hot Spring Spa’s. The site was a little too crowded for my liking, but it’s amazing to have seen what the Romans built, and how the hot spring water rises up through these specific cracks and fissures. The rest of the afternoon we just ate lunch,walked around and shopped in the quaint streets of the town. Bath is also where Jane Austen sets the scene in a lot of her novels, and there was a Jane Austen memorial museum. As I am a huge Austen fan, I went to visit, but it was pretty expensive to get a tour, so we just took some pictures outside with her statue! 🙂 We also found this cute little Old Tyme Candy Shoppe where they had every type of candy and chocolate you could imagine, all made by hand! Although, I thought it was interesting that they had some American food, like Pop-tarts and Lucky Charms for sale! It’s funny how we think of that as breakfast and they were selling it in their candy store! I bought a couple of chocolate bars to take home for my family.

Kelly and I at the Roman Spa

The girls and I are off on our next traveling adventure, on Friday morning we have a 6:15 am flight to Munich for the weekend! We come home Monday night, because next week is reading week and we don’t have any classes! Our friend Jen who is on the track team with us back at Lafayette is studying abroad in Paris right now, and she is meeting us there! I can’t wait to go to a traditional German beer hall, visit Dachau, and see the Glockenspiel! Can’t wait to tell you guys all about it! Auf Wiedersehen! 🙂

 

PS- Check out the pictures tab, I’ve added some new ones!

Leave a Reply

