First Day of Class – British Style

Standard

Cheers!

Yesterday I attended my first class of the semester at Queen Mary! The class I attended was called “Terror, Transgression, and Astonishment,” which is a literature class on Gothicism in the 17th-19th centuries. The style of class here in London is different than what I’m used to back home at good ole’ Lafayette. We only meet for class once a week! After the one hour lecture by my professor, I attended what they call a seminar. A seminar is where the class splits up into groups of about 15 students and talk about in further detail the readings and what was discussed in lecture, and this lasts an additional hour-hour and a half. It’s all pretty different but definitely something I could get used to. The classes here also seem a LOT more reading intensive than what I’m used to back home. I have to have a 670 page novel (The Mysteries of Udolpho by Anne Radcliffe) read by next week! But all the novels for this literature class that I have to read all seem like books that I will enjoy reading. Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey is on the list, so really how bad could it be? 🙂

Julissa, Kelly, and I have also booked more plane flights! We are now officially going to Munich from November 4th-7th and we are headed to Amsterdam December 2nd-4th! Finally these ideas and wishes to travel are finally becoming reality. We already leave for our first trip, to Barcelona, next weekend!

Now, although I am looking forward to traveling around Europe, I’m also just as excited to be living in Britain, traveling around the UK, and experiencing the culture here. One way I have done this is by sampling the favorite foods of the natives. I know, I know…the Brits are known for their beer, not their food, but I had to give it a try and what better way to do that than to have “beans on toast.” Beans are HUGE here! They eat beans for breakfast with eggs, with baked potatoes and cheese and on toast. My new friend Josh made “beans on toast” the other day, and he was shell-shocked that I had never heard of it! I figured, “How bad could it be?” and I tried it. Now the English normally eat this meal for breakfast, but I had it for lunch along with Julissa. And it was surprisingly pretty tasty! I don’t think I could bring myself to have beans for breakfast, but I still hope to bring it back to the States. Oh, I’m just getting so cultured over here 🙂

 

PS- Check out some of the pictures I uploaded!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

